August 8, 2022
News Sport

Favourites Ballygunner beaten in Munster hurling final

Ballygunner have missed out on retaining their Munster Championship crown when they were beaten by Borris-Ileagh 1-12 to 1-11 this afternoon.

Borris-Ileagh upset the odds to win the title for the first time since 1986 in terrible conditions as just over 2,600 looked on in Cork’s Páirc Uí Rinn.

The Tipperary champions are the first team from the Premier county to win the Munster Championship since 2012.

Leading by three points in the third quarter, Ballygunner looked to manage out the manage but Borris-Ileagh battled back to overturn the deficit.

Borris-Ileagh will now take on Galway champions St Thomas’ in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *