January 26, 2021

Waterford poll-topper Cullinane misses out on new Dáil Covid-19 committee chair

Independent TD Michael McNamara has been appointed chair of the Covid-19 committee defeating Waterford poll-topper David Cullinane in the process.

Earlier the committee voted by 12 votes to six against the Sinn Féin TD  after Mr Cullinane was nominated by the party’s finance spokesman Pearse Doherty.


Waterford Deputies Mary Butler (FF) and Matt Shanahan are also a part of the 19-person committee.

The workings of the group will focus on issues arising from the Covid-19 pandemic including its effect on mental health care, care homes and how they have been handled, and how they were handled, and what preparations have been made in case of a second surge in the virus among other issues.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *