October 18, 2021
News Sport

Towering Waterford star to lead Ireland’s charge against the Scots

A towering young Waterford man has been given the nod to start in Ireland’s first Under 20s Six Nations match tomorrow night.

Second row forward Thomas Ahern, who began his rugby career at Waterpark Rugby Club, has been handed the number five jersey for tomorrow night’s match against Scotland in Cork’s Irish Independent Park.

The 19-year-old, 110kg 6ft 9 lock is currently playing with Shannon RFC in Limerick and has lined out twice for Munster A so far.

Eoin O’Connor (19), another Waterpark graduate, was named as part of coach Gareth McNamara’s 35 man squad for the Six nations. However, he did not receive the call up for this clash.

Thomas will run out alongside his Irish teammates to face Scotland tomorrow evening, at 7.15pm. The match is live on RTÉ2 television.

Full team:

Full team:

15. Oran McNulty (Millfield School / Corinthians RFC / Connacht)
14. Ethan McIlroy (Methody College / Queens RFC / Ulster)
13. Dan Kelly (Kirkham Grammar / Loughborogh University / IQ Rugby)
12. Hayden Hyde (Cranleigh School / Ballynahinch RFC / Ulster)
11. Andrew Smith (St Michael’s College / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
10. Jack Crowley (Bandon RFC / Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
9. Lewis Finlay (Down High School / Malone RFC / Ulster)

1. Charlie Ward (Tullow RFC / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
2. Tom Stewart (Belfast Royal Academy / Ballynahinch RFC / Ulster)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Blackrock College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
4. Brian Deeny (Wexford Wanderers / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
5. Thomas Ahern (Waterpark RFC / Shannon RFC / Munster)
6. Sean O’Brien (Blackrock College / UCD RFC / Leinster)
7. Mark Hernan (St Michael’s College / Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
8. David McCann (RBAI / Banbridge RFC / Ulster)(captain)


16. John McKee (Campbell College / Old Belvedere / Leinster)
17. Ciaran Ryan (Rockwell College / Cashel RFC / Munster)
18. Ryan McMahon (Clongowes Wood College / Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
19. Joe McCarthy (Blackrock College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
20. Alexis Soroka (Belvedere College / Dublin University FC / Leinster)
21. Ben Murphy (Presentation College Bray / Clontarf FC / Leinster)
22. Tim Corkery (Kilkenny RFC / Lansdowne FC / Leinster)
23. Luis Faria (Newpark Comprehensive / Dublin University FC / Leinster)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *