October 19, 2021

Slow down folks, they’re now live: 903 new speed zones, including 16 in Waterford, rolled out from today

Slow down folks … more than 900 new speed zones, including 16 in Waterford, came into effect across the country this morning.

The 903 cameras will operate in areas that have a speed-related collision history where fatal, serious injury and now minor injury collisions occur.

You can check out where they are on Garda.ie.

Last week, WaterfordNow.ie revealed that the 16 new speed zones were to be introduced into Waterford in the following locations:

Road Name Location Road Type Number of Collisions
N25 Kinsalebeg National 5
N25 Lemybrien National 2
N25 Lacka Road, Kilmeden National 2
N72 Lismore National 3
R628 Tallow National 3
R671 Aglish National 2
R675 Curraghilla National 2
R678 Clonea Power Regional 3
R680 Fiddown Bridge Regional 6
R686 Summerhill Regional 4
R672 Dungarvan Regional 8
R672 Dungarvan Regional 2
R675 Kilcohan Regional 4
L5109 Ballyhoo Local 2
L4082 Faithlegg Local 2
Strand Street Waterford Urban 7

Gardaí insist speed vans save lives and the purpose of the cameras is to reduce speed related collisions and lessen injuries. Road deaths have dropped from 415 in 2000 to 148 in 2019.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *