July 26, 2021
Business News

ELECTION 2020: David Cullinane breaks 20,000 in landslide victory, last three seats to go to last count

Sinn Féin’s David Cullinane has been returned to the Dáil following a landslide victory in Waterford after he secured a whopping 20,569 first preferences – the largest vote for one candidate in the history of the constituency.

The only surprise of the day was the massive margin of Cullinane’s victory. The Waterford city man broke the 20,000 mark and took 38.3% of the first preference votes.

The announcement of the first count was delayed slightly due to a disparity in figures between a manual count and a separate computer tally.

Returning Officer Neil Rooney wanted to ensure the first count was absolutely correct, so if a recount was called, they would not have to delve back into the first count again.

It has been deemed that candidates require 10,752 votes to reach the quota, but it is unlikely now that any candidate remaining will make that mark, and hence this election will be decided on the final count. Three candidates will be elected without reaching a quota.

It appears that six candidates are realistically in with a shout of securing a seat in the next Dáil and the transfer of Cullinane’s surplus of 9,817 will go a long way to deciding this.

Full count

David Cullinane Sinn Féin 20,569
Mary Butler Fianna Fáil 6,644
Matt Shanahan Independent 4,990
John Cummins Fine Gael 4,592
Damien Geoghegan Fine Gael 4,289
Marc Ó Cathasaigh Green Party 3,996
John Pratt Labour Party 3,498
Eddie Mulligan Fianna Fáil 2.654
Ronan Cleary AONTU 1,049
Una Dunphy People Before Profit 1,153
Bernadette Phillips Independent 324

Total Electorate – 84,978

Total poll – 54,205

Valid Poll – 53,758

Quota – 10,752



Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *