April 14, 2021

General Election 2020: All the candidates for the Waterford constituency

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar this afternoon visited Áras an Uachtaráin to ask President Michael D Higgins to dissolve the 32nd Dáil Éireann.

We now face into 23 days of what will certainly be intensive, divisive and intriguing campaigning for the 159 available Dáil seats.

Experts and analysts alike think this election could hark back to the days of the early 80s, when it took three elections over an 18 month period to finally settle on a workable Government.

The bookies have Fianna Fáil favourite to take the most seats, but so tight is this election expected to be they also believe they will win just one seat more than Fine Gael.

Experts expect big gains from the Green Party with marginal gains for Labour and Fianna Fáil. Fine Gael are predicted to hold what they have, while some say Sinn Féin might feel a slight squeeze.

The smaller parties, Solidarity – PBP, the Social Democrats and Independent TDs may be on the receiving end of a voting whipping.

In the Waterford constituency, four seats are up for grabs and at least one, if not two sitting TDs have decided not to run for re-election, which could make this one of the most interesting campaigns in a long time.

Here is a full up-to date list of all those declared to run as of 4pm today.

Deputy Mary Butler – Fianna Fáil



Deputy David Cullinane – Sinn Féin

Waterford City


Cllr John Cummins – Fine Gael

Waterford City


Una Dunphy – People Before Profit



Cllr Damien Geoghegan – Fine Gael



Kieran Hartley – Independent



Cllr Eddie Mulligan – Fianna Fáil

Waterford City


Cllr Marc O’Cathasaigh – Green Party


Bernadette Philips – Independent

Waterford City

Cllr John Pratt – Labour



Cllr Matt Shanahan – Independent

Ballindud, Waterford City


*** Deputy John Halligan  – Independent,  has yet to confirm if he will run again for the Dáil.



Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *