June 20, 2021
News Sport

Gailltír’s ‘supersub’ delivers on biggest stage as Waterford women are crowned All-Ireland champions

Gailltír (Waterford) 1-13
St Rynagh’s (Offaly) 0-13

Waterford’s Gailltír are All-Ireland champions after they clutched victory from the jaws of defeat in spectacular fashion at the AIB Intermediate Club Camogie Final in Croke Park yesterday evening.

Úna Jackman’s dramatic match-winning goal in the fourth minute of injury time was enough to snatch victory for Gailltír over their Offaly opponents, St Rynagh’s.

It was sweet redemption for the Waterford side after losing last year’s decider by a point to Clonduff. And it seemed as if they would miss out this time too when St Rynagh’s turned a three-point interval deficit into a one-point advantage before the three-quarter mark, and led by two with only seconds remaining.

It looked to be Rynagh’s day after an impressive second-half fightback led by Kate Kenny and free-taker Siobhán Flannery.

However, the women of Waterford heroically held out at the death as Úna Jackman and the hugely experienced Trish Jackman saved the day for the Déise.

It was, in the end, the closest of encounters.

Gailltír started brightly and led from the front. They were 0-7 to 0-4 up at the break with Aine Lyng lording it for the Waterford champions and Ciara O’Sullivan finding the posts with ease along with Aoife and Annie Fitzgerald.

But by the hour mark Rynagh’s had somehow edged ahead. In the 63rd minute the scoreline at Croke Park read 0-13 to 0-12 in favour of the Offaly outfit.

Step forward Una Jackman. A last-gasp ball into the area, everyone ploughed forward, a palmed effort over the top and a strike that will be immortalised in Gailltír as Jackman rattled the far top corner.

The supersub had delivered in spectacular fashion, writing herself and her brave Gailltír teammates in the history books.

: C Jackman, M Heffernan,L Sheridan, H Flynn, E Roche, C Carroll, T Jackman, K Lynch, S Fitzgerald, C O’Sullivan, A Lyng, Annie Fitzgerald, A Corcoran, Aoife Fitzgerald, E Walsh. Sub: C Dunne for Heffernan (47), U Jackman for Walsh (51)

St Rynaghs: E Gilligan, C O’Connell, E Sullivan, S Moran, R Daly, L Sullivan, E Corcoran, H Dolan, R Egan, A McLoughlin, S Hanamy, G Dolan, L Mannion, K Kenny, S Flannery. Sub: T Nugent for O’Connell (22), M Doorly for Hanamy (60+3)

Referee: Owen Elliott (Antrim)

PHOTO: Gailltír Facebook 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *