April 18, 2021

ELECTION 2020: Count 4 – Mayor of Waterford, Labour’s John Pratt, is eliminated

As expected, Fianna Fáil’s Mary Butler was the big beneficiary of the transfers of party colleague Eddie Mulligan.

Labour’s John Pratt has been excluded and his 4,600 votes will now be distributed.

Independent Matt Shanahan now looks good to gain the third seat. Green Party councillor Marc Ó Cathasaigh look likely to battle it out for the last seat with  Fine Gael’s John Cummins. Una Dunphy of People Before Profit could yet spring a surprise.

Count 4 final Result:

NAME PARTY Third Count
David Cullinane Sinn Féin Elected 1st Count
Mary Butler Fianna Fáil 8,939
Matt Shanahan Independent 7,885
John Cummins Fine Gael 5,484
Damien Geoghegan Fine Gael 4,675
Marc Ó Cathasaigh Green Party 5,976
John Pratt Labour Party 4,602 -Eliminated
Eddie Mulligan Fianna Fáil 3,180 -Eliminated
Ronan Cleary AONTU 1,426 -Eliminated
Una Dunphy People Before Profit 4,944
Bernadette Phillips Independent 845 – Eliminated

Total Electorate – 84,978

Total poll – 54,205

Valid Poll – 53,758

Quota – 10,752




Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *