August 4, 2021
News Sport

Club heroes named joint winners of October WLR Granville Hotel GAA Award

Kieran Bennett and Conor Murray have been named as joint winners of the October WLR Granville Hotel GAA Award.

Ballysaggart midfielder Bennett is the third Bennett brother to claim this accolade followingin the footsteps of siblings Shane and Stephen.

He struck nine points from play in the Western final win over Ardmore and added four in the county final against Ballygunner as the blue and navy earned promotion to the senior ranks.

Bennett shared the October accolade with Conor Murray, who played a major role in Rathgormack winning their first County Senior football title since 1999.

Ger Power’s charges narrowly lost out to away to Clare champions Miltown Malbay in the quarter final.

Waterford county-star Murray said the county final win will “live long in the memory” and said the club learned a lot during their incredible campaign and can build on this in the years to come.

PHOTO: NOEL BROWNE: Caption: Conor Murray, Rathgormack GAA Club was the joint winner of the November WLR/Granville Hotel Monthly GAA Award and is pictured receiving his award from Neil Gough, WLR and Liam Cusack, Granville Hotel. Also included were Ger Power, manager, Rathgormack Senior Football team, Tomás McCarthy, judge, Owen Gleeson and Rebecca Casey.

Shane Doran

Shane Doran is founder and Co-Managing Editor of News Now Media, incorporating, and He is a former newspaper editor who has held senior executive roles across five national newspaper titles, both broadsheet and tabloid. He was News Editor and Executive Editor of the Irish Independent for more than seven years and spent a number of years in South Africa where he worked as editor of The Daily Voice newspaper. Shane has held senior editorial position with The Sunday Independent, The Herald and The Irish Daily Star and has served as Executive Editor (Group) of Independent News & Media (INM), Ireland’s largest newspaper group.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *